CGPersia Forums
Release Blog CGPeers Register FAQ IRC Chat
Go Back   CGPersia Forums > CGPersia Home > General CG Help & Support
Reload this Page C4D R12 Thinking Particles
General CG Help & Support Baffled by something? Ask for support here! NOT FOR SITE ISSUES OR REQUESTS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2010   #1
Original Poster
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks (Given): 51
Thanks (Received): 0
Default C4D R12 Thinking Particles

Was wondering if anyone could help. I installed C4D R12 from here. Everything went excellent except I don't have Thinking Particles. It says that I have the Studio version registered correctly and I even have the TP folder in my modules. Any advice would be appreciated.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010   #2
muchograndes
muchograndes's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,729
Thanks (Given): 612
Thanks (Received): 298
its in the simulation menu now.

using thinking particles is real hell though. good luck
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 . - IXIMAGES thanked for this post
Old 12-13-2010   #3
IXIMAGES
Original Poster
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks (Given): 51
Thanks (Received): 0
Oh damn! lol! Didnt see that change! Thank you so much!
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011   #4
jablalex
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks (Given): 17
Thanks (Received): 0
heya.. thinking particles dont show anything in the editor here. only the renderer shows them. i tried out the examples from the content manager.

any ideas??

cheers,
alex

edit: generally even the standard particles dont show up

Last edited by jablalex; 01-28-2011 at 08:37 AM.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011   #5
muchograndes
muchograndes's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,729
Thanks (Given): 612
Thanks (Received): 298
check your "filter" settings at the top of the viewport.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011   #6
jablalex
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks (Given): 17
Thanks (Received): 0
Link(s):
 
oh yes, dumbass me i just found that, too

thanks
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011   #7
jwilwade
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 330
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 42
I have a question. Can Tutorials for THINKING PARTICLES for MAX be followed in C4d. Is it the same thinking particles. Also C4d changed everything with thinking particles.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011   #8
mr rayne
mr rayne's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 642
Thanks (Given): 245
Thanks (Received): 349
Link(s):
 
C4D uses its own scripting language called Xpresso - in principal, the answer is yes. You can replicate MAX thinking particle behavior in C4D using Xpresso - the "gotcha" being (of course) you have to know the appropriate (and requisite) Xpresso commands and how to hook 'em up.

This gets to be the tipping point regarding weather or not you will succeed in any such endevour.

So basically, yeah. You can do it but the method isn't an exact one-to-one translation. You have to wrap your noodle around the Xpresso stuff.
__________________
Where as Murosel simply sucks. Period.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011   #9
proVee
Moderator
proVee's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,123
Thanks (Given): 289
Thanks (Received): 644
Keep in mind that TP in c4d is quite outdated, Cebas doesn't develop it anymore, the max plugin is like 9 years ahead now and has features it will be missing in c4d.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011   #10
jwilwade
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 330
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 42
Another question to any C4d expert out there using thinking particles in C4d 12. How do you freeze to current state the particles once they are where you want them to be and then have them inter react with other objects? Example: Gas cloud or nebula then have an asteroid pass though them dispersing them and having them the particles come back into place as they were. Object passes through and the particles move in reaction then remember their previous position and return. This would be of great help to me to understand. I can do it easily in Maya.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote