CGPersia Forums
Release Blog CGPeers IRC Chat Register FAQ
Go Back   CGPersia Forums > CGPersia Home > General CG Help & Support
Reload this Page Running Keygen as Administrator
General CG Help & Support Baffled by something? Ask for support here! NOT FOR SITE ISSUES OR REQUESTS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2011   #1
Original Poster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Default Running Keygen as Administrator

I Have A Question, but I donít Know If You Can Help With The Answer?

With reference to I assume a lot of keygenís, but specifically as an example running the 64bit XFORCE keygen for Autocad 2011.


Why do you have to run the keygen as Administrator with the UAC turned off on vista and Windows 7?


If you send of the request code to AutoDesk for AutoCad 2011 they send you back an Authorisation Code i.e. the request code leads AutoDesk to run some sort of "Look Up Table" where there is a corresponding "Authorisation Code" which they in turn send back to you.


So hence my question, why run the keygen as Administrator with the UAC turned off on vista and Windows 7?


It has been pointed out to me


"When you try to show the hidden files In Windows7 or starting any command, you get a warning message that tell you he: you must run this command in Administrator mode! so this is a rule of Operating System not the Keygen".


Yes I accept this, it is the OS requirement, but dose anyone know why the program (the keygen) was written this way? There must surely be a reason as I would just like to understand a little bit more
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]-->(in laymanís terms).

I would ask Xforce directly, but obliviously there isn't a direct contact number or details for them. I have also tried Googling the question, but that hasn't really proved sucescefull
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]-->

Kind regards.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011   #2
ff44
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 204
Thanks (Given): 107
Thanks (Received): 21
I run it with uac turned on and worked fine for me.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011   #3
Sly
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,274
Thanks (Given): 58
Thanks (Received): 1942
Try using Windows help and search for uac
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011   #4
MS6
MS6's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,686
Thanks (Given): 1317
Thanks (Received): 986
There are many possibilites, the Autocad keygen also needs some memory patching, doesn't it?
IIRC you start it with the Autocad Registration dialog open and have to click mem patch before you paste the activation code.
Since normal applications run in user context you have to start it as admin to allow it to modify memory space of other running apps.

Other keygens/patches/cracks/licgens/loaders might need admin rights e.g. to...
- ...access hardware details that are needed to build up ids or request codes
- ...open binary handles to patch other files
- ...modify memory or code of the target (e.g. to circumvent certain checks, replace the internal hardware id, re-whitelist some blacklisted serials, whatever...)
- ...write to protected registry entries
- ...write to protected system files (e.g. hosts file)
- ...unpack themselves if they use some custom packers to protect the cracker's code
- ...many more I have no clue of
...

Not everything needs admin access just to infect your PC

Last edited by MS6; 01-22-2011 at 08:31 AM.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
2 Thanks, 0 . - Ichio, Nirrol thanked for this post
Old 01-18-2011   #5
lubitel
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 64
Thanks (Given): 19
Thanks (Received): 12
try posting in a correct part of the forum LisaB....maam
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011   #6
Dave
Dave's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,780
Thanks (Given): 397
Thanks (Received): 452
thank you for this release.

ban i say
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 . - larrys thanked for this post
Old 01-18-2011   #7
weiq
weiq's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,866
Thanks (Given): 472
Thanks (Received): 1731
Link(s):
 
LOL!
__________________
click > here < to learn how to be a premium member for free
want CGPeers Invite ? click here
Mac users, do you know there's Mac sections just for you guys to beg and ask for stuffs?

Last edited by weiq; 01-18-2011 at 03:28 PM.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote