CGPersia Forums
Release Blog CGPeers IRC Chat FAQ
Go Back   CGPersia Forums > CGPersia Home > Site Suggestions & Site Errors & Everything related to CGP
Reload this Page I got an advert on CGPersia
Site Suggestions & Site Errors & Everything related to CGP Got a suggestion? Let us know. Also post any site errors here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2017, 10:43:31 PM   #1
prezadent's Avatar
Original Poster
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,211
Thanks (Given): 964
Thanks (Received): 2565
Default I got an advert on CGPersia

I got a small ad at the bottom right for cnet on this page...
Link(s):
 
I don't think it is malware (I check often) and the only other active tabs I had open were Youtube and CGPeers.
__________________
No one is coming to save you.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:14:32 PM   #2
snowden
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,449
Thanks (Given): 646
Thanks (Received): 13854
I just tried that link, with and without Adblockers and I can't get my PC to show an ad no matter what I disable.
Sounds like a bit of new tech from another site. The new tech of the last few weeks goes past my adblocker like it wasn't installed. It might as well not be for what it stops these days.
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:25:39 PM   #3
wagaboo
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 363
Thanks (Given): 365
Thanks (Received): 141
No problems here as well. What blocker are you using Snow' ?
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:45:56 PM   #4
chaosdivine69
chaosdivine69's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 254
Thanks (Given): 159
Thanks (Received): 326
Some ad blockers themselves have sold out for $ from the advertisers by default. Ad blockers rely on filter lists. Now some of these well known filter lists have also sold out to advertisers for $ too. All the Fanboy filter lists are now suspect in my experience. Other lists still seem OK but the Fanboy ones are garbage.

One thing to download and install is Element Hiding Helper and take control of your own lists. Once you learn how to dig down in the page code, you can almost always block what you need when you need it.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:49:03 PM   #5
snowden
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,449
Thanks (Given): 646
Thanks (Received): 13854
@ wagaboo. I use Adblock Latitude. Same as the famous one but just altered a bit to run on Pale Moon browser, which is a Firefox clone without the policemen and nanny state LOL. Time they rewrote the blocker. It ain't stopping much. If you keep up with internet news you'll know there's some new tech out that will go through almost any adblocker. Can't remember who gave the marketers the tech, but I'd love to throw him in the Atlantic tied to a block of concrete.
is Online  
Reply With Quote
5 Thanks, 0 Dislike - Ichio, radoman, omariana, kingst0n, wagaboo thanked for this post
Old 12-03-2017, 02:49:24 AM   #6
wagaboo
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 363
Thanks (Given): 365
Thanks (Received): 141
Thanks Snowden, I'll look into that one for sure AND agreed on the block of concrete lol
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 07:28:41 AM   #7
radoman
radoman's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,293
Thanks (Given): 5584
Thanks (Received): 6271
........... Atlantic is already to much polluted, if you throw this garbage make situation even worse...Think about ecology
btw. all this forced adv. make me determined to not buy or look or whatever ... this is counter effect, at least for me
is Online  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 Dislike - squ thanked for this post
Old 12-03-2017, 10:08:25 AM   #8
squ
squ's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,065
Thanks (Given): 731
Thanks (Received): 426
Link(s):
 
Me too, on facebook I tell 'em, before blocking the page.
__________________
moin, moin ...
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 10:28:15 AM   #9
Sproxar
Sproxar's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3,059
Thanks (Given): 2387
Thanks (Received): 2196
Link(s):
 
If these a$$holes ever bother to look at all their much vaunted analytics, they'll notice a lot of people clicking away from their pages immediately after their pop-ups appear. The same seems to be happening with sites that try to block ad-blockers. I wonder how long it will take them to do the math?
__________________

doing my part to make the world a better place... one post at a time.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 Dislike - squ thanked for this post
Old 12-03-2017, 11:18:34 AM   #10
squ
squ's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,065
Thanks (Given): 731
Thanks (Received): 426
I used to tell them that they need to change their marketing policy, for the reasons that you suggest. Can't be bothered to waste bandwidth now with so many characters, I just tell 'em to fuck off
__________________
moin, moin ...
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:15:02 PM   #11
radoman
radoman's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,293
Thanks (Given): 5584
Thanks (Received): 6271
........ it's not to they do not bother to read comment, they know that, but do not care.
Stupid people want to be advertised on the Internet, so they find some "agency" ( or whatever they are called ), pay them to post his adv across web. Also they pay in advance, so math is simple Agency give them only info how many people "see" his adv. not what they say

btw. I talk with couple small business people, so they use people on street which share a flyers or put in your mailbox flyers, catalogues ..... Believe or not, this bust his business. I guess that is same with web.... there is so much ....stupid people.
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:52:30 PM   #12
snowden
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,449
Thanks (Given): 646
Thanks (Received): 13854
What Sproxar said is correct. A good website server software will give you as many stats as you like. And a very common stat is HOW LONG a visitor stayed. Absolutely essential to know that stat. Its the basis of all decisions later. If the visitors stay for 2 seconds before they press the goodbye button the website DOES know that. But no way are they going to pass that info back to the paying advertisers. The longer term inevitable result is that they'll both go bust. It takes time thats all.

One word I see everywhere, including here, is the word "Forced". I can't think of a better method to make people completely switch off. Your new CPU or MB will only run on WIN 10. Did I say "forced" ????
is Online  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 Dislike - SupraIntended thanked for this post
Old 12-04-2017, 12:37:05 AM   #13
dreatica
dreatica's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,522
Thanks (Given): 10101
Thanks (Received): 3216
just use firefox for your porn and chrome for the others sites ...
:P
__________________
---ANARCHY---
DTA4Ever

is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 11:10:45 PM   #14
prezadent
prezadent's Avatar
Original Poster
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,211
Thanks (Given): 964
Thanks (Received): 2565
So evidently it was a "notification" which I allowed. I didn't remember allowing it, never have I allowed one. I deleted it and turned off notifications and it was back today.

I am using Firefox from last month. There must be an exploit for notifications that cnet is using. I'll just host block them bastards.
__________________
No one is coming to save you.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search