CGPersia Forums
Release Blog CGPeers IRC Chat FAQ
Go Back   CGPersia Forums > Off Topic > CG General Discussion
Reload this Page OpenCL on CPU for Houdini 16
CG General Discussion General discussion related to computer graphics and the CG industry

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2018, 04:51:39 AM   #1
Original Poster
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 1
Default OpenCL on CPU for Houdini 16

Hey everyone,


I've been trying to get OpenCL working on my CPU with Houdini 16 but keep running into the same error.

  • OpenCL Exception: Could not create OpenCL device of type (HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE): CPU on platform vendor (HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR): Intel(R) Corporation. The built-in CPU driver may not support your CPU (-6)

I've added the line (HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE=CPU) to my Houdini.env file as well as downloading the opencl_runtime_16.1.2_x64_setup.msi file still no love.


My CPU is an Intel i7 7820x which I believe supports OpenCL.


If anyone is able to lend a hand here I'd be forever in your debt
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 05:02:46 AM   #2
dreamof3d
dreamof3d's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 908
Thanks (Given): 437
Thanks (Received): 198
That's a good one, is that for a render or viewing in the view port... Running Houdini 16.5.323 How does one initiate this?
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 11:28:13 AM   #3
dubadum
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,225
Thanks (Given): 1900
Thanks (Received): 3080
let's start with the dumb question: do you have intel's OCL drivers installed?
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 03:21:28 PM   #4
Linking
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Maybe you should install OCL drivers like dubadum said. It may fix your issue
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 04:33:50 PM   #5
boarder
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 186
Thanks (Given): 114
Thanks (Received): 42
You won't see much change using CL on CPU FYI
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 05:50:05 PM   #6
Alchemistrs
Alchemistrs's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 262
Thanks (Given): 582
Thanks (Received): 80
You definitively need the drivers to start. There are 4 ways that I've use it. First is in SOPs via openCl node as inline code kernel programming just like VEX, but openCL is much slower and you need to know the openCL language. Second in DOPs some of the nodes have a check box to use openCL to do the simulation and it works pretty well. Third is in SHOP/MAT some shaders also have openCL option visible in the viewport for viewing diffuse plus displacement ect. Fourth is in ROP with the openCL render node use it like any other render node.

FYI openCL is sometimes very unstable in my case, I usually only use it with sims. Just my five cents.
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:57:47 AM   #7
Bionikchest
Original Poster
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 1
Link(s):
 
Heya,

Thanks for the reply!

In my original post I mentioned "I've added the line (HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE=CPU) to my Houdini.env file as well as downloading the opencl_runtime_16.1.2_x64_setup.msi file still no love." which was reference to downloading the drivers, but am unsure if this is all I need?

---------- Post added at 01:47:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:42:46 AM ----------

Link(s):
 
The reason I'm wanting to use OpenCL on CPU is due to the 6gb limit of my GPU and my simulations are getting to be beyond that memory limitation.

I've read that enabling OpenCL on CPU can really help with some solvers / microsolvers upwards of 20% speed increase. This can be a massive time saver when simulating large scenes for me.

Ultimately I need to upgrade the GPU to a Titan XP with 12gb which should see me through.

---------- Post added at 01:57:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:47:22 AM ----------

Link(s):
 
OpenGL is your viewport / 3d driver.

"The primary advantage of using OpenCL on the CPU is the ability to use all available RAM on the system, unlike the GPU which is limited to RAM on the video card. This allows running very large simulations under OpenCL, while still realizing increased performance through code vectorization and more efficient memory access."
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
1 Thanks, 0 Dislike - dreamof3d thanked for this post
Old 01-13-2018, 02:00:24 AM   #8
mmikemott
mmikemott's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,690
Thanks (Given): 362
Thanks (Received): 396
OpenCL is dead according to many devs...
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 03:08:44 AM   #9
isamarsh
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 464
Thanks (Given): 327
Thanks (Received): 193
Perhaps, but it's the only GPU computation lib that Houdini supports so you don't really have any choice.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 03:37:24 AM   #10
dubadum
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,225
Thanks (Given): 1900
Thanks (Received): 3080
@Bikinichest
i've seen that you downloaded... but did you run the installer, install drivers and tested if OCL is present, running & working...
& now, i feel even dumber

best for you is to go read the documentation and search/explore forums at sideFX, orbolt...


@mmike
we're all already dead according to many nihilists others - able, we use reality that's available now
is Online  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:33:15 PM   #11
3dc3dv
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 55
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 429
Default Solution !

I had the same issue with i9-7900X (Skylake-X) and Houdini 16.5.323

- Intel added support for Skylake-X in OpenCL Runtime 16.1.2 (6.4.0.37)
- Houdini 16.5.323 uses OpenCL Runtime 15.1.0 (5.0.0.57) (no Skylake-X support)

Solution (16.5.323):

1) INSTALL OpenCL Runtime 16.1.2
2) rename C:\Program Files\Side Effects Software\Houdini 16.5.323\bin\OpenCL to OpenCL_BAK
3) COPY C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\OpenCL TO C:\Program Files\Side Effects Software\Houdini 16.5.323\bin
4) COPY OpenCL_BAK\bin\x64\cl.cfg TO OpenCL\bin\x64
5) SET HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE=CPU in houdini.env
6) RUN in command prompt hgpuinfo.exe -l to list available OpenCL devices and check that CPU is listed/supported , then hgpuinfo.exe with no parameters to check that OpenCL can be initialized correctly , if no errors then you can start houdini and use OpenCL CPU.

Last edited by 3dc3dv; 01-14-2018 at 04:43:15 PM.
is Offline  
Reply With Quote