CGPersia Forums
Release Blog CGPeers Register FAQ IRC Chat
Go Back   CGPersia Forums > CGPersia Home > General CG Help & Support
Reload this Page Vray 2 Displacement Mapping Problem
General CG Help & Support Baffled by something? Ask for support here! NOT FOR SITE ISSUES OR REQUESTS

Old 06-03-2011   #1
Original Poster
Thanks (Given): 53
Thanks (Received): 29
Default Vray 2 Displacement Mapping Problem

Dear Forum,

I'm a Vray 3ds Max newbie, trying to apply a displacement map to my character. It has been imported from zbrush. I've exported the disp map in tif format and at 4096 res. After

1. Converted model to editable poly
2. Applying a Turbosmooth; increasing rendered interations to 4
3. Applying a Vray Disp Mod; increasing amount to 5
4. Configuring the render; placing a sun, activated indirect GI.

There is no displacement in height or depth of my model in Vray RT-activeshade and production.

Can any kind Cgpersian help me?

This is my first attempt at using 3ds max and Vray. I've moved from maya. GoZ is able to transfer all the maps. It just the displacement and normal mapping that is fucked up.

FML
Thanks

Last edited by Khanaks; 06-03-2011 at 09:32 PM.
is Offline  
Old 06-03-2011   #2
JavierTF
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 5
I think you can not view the displacement results in Vray RT mode....you need to do a render production. Of course you have to add that disp image in the displacement map section too(in materials/maps or in the modifier list VraydisplacementMod/texmap) .
So do a Render production using Shift+q, rendering menu or go to the teapot that you have in the icons.

Last edited by JavierTF; 06-03-2011 at 09:10 PM.
is Offline  
Old 06-03-2011   #3
Khanaks
Original Poster
Link(s):

Sadly no diffrence. No displacement of my model in production or in activeshade. I must be doing something wrong. What is the normal procedure to achieve displacement from a model in Vray 3ds Max?
is Offline  
Old 06-03-2011   #4
JavierTF
Thanks (Given): 0